the mutt

Who is Navtej Sarna?

Posted in indian writing in english, Writing by grx20 on August 14, 2008

In my first post, I’d like to introduce you a wonderful writer, who very few (lucky few I might add) have heard of – Navtej Sarna.

He’s the former official spokesman for India’s Ministry of External Affairs. Recently, he’s been appointed the Indian Ambassador to Israel. I won’t be surprised if you’ve never heard of him. It’s a little difficult to find any information. Even his own website, www.navtejsarna.com sheds little light. This article from The Hindu here, give a little more.

We Weren’t Lovers Like That

I found his first novel, ‘We Weren’t Lovers Like That’ purely by accident. I was browsing through the Indian Writing section trying to find an author I had never heard of. I found this thin book wedged between two other fat books, almost invisible, and it seemed obscure enough to bother reading the blurb.

From the very beginning, it is evident Sarna is a tuly gifted and talented writer. His word choice is amazing – you feel, no other word could have worked. There are many brilliant parts in the book, and it’s a sheer delight to stumble upon them. The writing is beautiful and the story flows effortlessly. I particularly like the way he introduces the title.

I don’t want to get in to an in-depth review of the book – perhaps another time – but I would highly recommend it. (If you do want reviews, you will find enough in the very first page of a google search).

Interview snippet

From an interview with the magazine Outlook

Q. How long did you take to finish We Weren’t Lovers…?
A. Three years and another ten to get to the point where I could do it in three.

Brilliant!

Full interview here.

Second Thoughts

Navtej Sarna’s column, Second Thoughts, appears on some Sundays in The Hindu’s supplement, Literary Review. And thankfully, it gives us his email id. His website is so outdated, most of the links don’t work, like  his email id. I know. I wrote him, but didn’t get a reply! Some of the articles are available online – most are scattered. I might put together a collection of links. The website of the Hindu (Literary Review section), has archives. But you have to plod through each Sunday to find his article. One of my favourites – The allure of Cote d’Azur. I love the way he ends it – Such a small town, with such long shadows. Full article here.

Finally

He’s got two short stories. Each in a different collection. I’ve read one and it’s just as good. In fact I bought that book, only for that story.

Navtej Sarna is one of the finest Indian writers writing in English. In fact, I would put him on the top rung of writers, period. Sadly unknown, his book is very very hard to find. But if you find it, keep it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] In my first post, I deliberately stopped short of reviewing his book – and directed readers to links that did so. I touched upon his style (albeit very cursorily) and in my second post, I merely announced the impending launch of his second book. […]


Leave a Reply

