the mutt

To the one that got away … auf, hopefully wieder sehen

Posted in General, Writing by grx20 on August 27, 2008

I’m sure it’s happened to you. You get an idea for a story. You quickly scribble down the bare bones. Sometimes only a few words. At that moment, the story is bursting through and you want to get it down as fast as you can before you lose it. It seems so clear and powerful, the thought of forgetting the idea seems impossible.

Yet, that’s exactly what happens. You read the words a few days later, and wonder what the hell you were thinking about. You frantically trace every route from the words, try to recreate that moment when it was all clear. But the idea is gone. The few words, (in the words of Blackadder), are as helpful as a barber shop at the steps of the guillotine.

Consider this fragment from my notebook:

“saving the child – maid, woman, kitchen?”

I remember it had a supernatural theme to it. I remember the image of a maid in the kitchen. That’s it.

That story like many others, is gone.

I console myself saying, there’s no end to ideas and I will get more, so let it go.

But that’s just what it is, a consolation.

Here’s one more for the Found and Lost Department.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Darth Valinorean said, on August 27, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Great post! Very interesting blog for anyone interested in the creative fields .. not just reading and writing. I can totally relate to the above post. In fact, had an idea for a comment, and even had notes, but cannot remember what the idea for this comment was … ; )

    Keep up the good work.

  2. A G Shankar said, on September 12, 2008 at 6:32 am

    So true!. Over the last 40 years, I have collected many small pieces of paper with fantastic lines which could weave hundreds of stories – if only I can remeber beyond those lines. Many of them were written at night ( I dream stories). My son tried his best to make me write short stories and essays. As I used to tell him, I am waiting for that push which would open the tap!

  3. Jessie said, on January 23, 2010 at 7:18 am

    I’ve been suffering from this for the past 3 years. I am beginning to realize no one is going to push me unless I really seriously want to commit myself to a plot and see it through to a written end 🙂


Leave a Reply

