the mutt

Overheard #2

Posted in Oddities, Writing by grx20 on August 31, 2008

School was out and I was making my way past school kids running around crazily, oblivious to the traffic snarl they had caused.

Two boys walking ahead were blocking the pavement. And my best efforts of pulling a sizzling Schumacher overtaking maneuver were being thwarted with aplomb. That’s when I heard this:

I’ve decided, I’m going to tell him.

Don’t, please don’t.

Somebody has to tell him.

No don’t do something like that. It’s not important.

I’m not doing anything bad …

First thought: he wanted to tell someone (a classmate, perhaps) that he was boring; nobody wanted to be his friend and everyone was just humouring him.

Wish I’d had a happier thought.

Mulled over possible story lines – overheard fragments make great story prompts. But abandoned the exercise when I couldn’t think of any ‘happily ever after’ story lines.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mads said, on January 13, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    oh interesting post again. I like these posts where you overhear something and interpret. My first thought would have been that that boy is adopted or something like that. nice post 🙂 Guess its human tendancy not to think of happys the endings 😦

    • the mutt said, on January 15, 2009 at 2:52 am

      Thanks Mads,
      Yes, it is a lot of fun, and one has to be really very very alert to be able to overhear and pick up stuff. But it’s amazing, the kind of things you can catch people saying – and when taken out of context, it’s great for stories.


Leave a Reply

