the mutt

The ‘36-24-36’ method to make your blog popular.

Posted in Writing by grx20 on September 11, 2008

I was told that if I wanted to have my stats counter going through the roof, I should:

a. network ‘like crazy’

b. spread the word

c. do some guerrilla advertising

In short, try all the stunts in the book and more.

Perhaps.

Of course, there’s an easier way. I would have done the following:

5. Visited my own blog from every computer in my office every day.

4. Put in more Top 10 lists.

3. Linked extensively to other popular blogs.

2. Written about Meenakshi Reddy Madhavan’s new book.

1. Given you her blog link. And a link to the racier posts, just to make life easy.

I am also told, content is not king. What matters is who you know and who they know.

Sounds a lot like the publishing industry, doesn’t it?

Case in point: Amitav Ghosh’s, Booker short listed, Sea Of Poppies.

Now I haven’t read it. I haven’t read any reviews. But what I do know is, when the book was launched, he was everywhere. The media loved him. Book-readings were packed. And everybody wanted to know if he was the next Rushdie. (Why Rushdie was snubbed by this year’s Booker is another matter!)

As an Indian who has witnessed the rise of Indian writing in English and the birth of stars overnight, (not all of them deserving), I wonder, with instinctive cynicism, if his booker nomination was also masterfully choreographed?

Sea Of Poppies might really be a great book, and might actually deservingly win the Booker. But the media circus that accompanied the launch makes me hesitant to pick it up. Not even to ‘see what the fuss is all about.’

Every writer writes to be read. Whether it’s a blog or a novel. Every writer wants a cult following. Every writer wants to be popular.

I could go on a publicity blitz for my own blog. Be all over del.icio.us, technorati, etc., but just this time, I’m happy to wait for the mountain to come to Mohammed.

To all my current readers who have subscribed, who drop in, who comment and visit … thank you.

In this blog, content will be king. And that, I will shout from roof tops.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Darth Valinorean said, on September 12, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Great post .. slow and steady wins the race. Your blog’s time in the sun will come.

  2. davematt said, on September 30, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    So true…. I have my reservations too about ‘Sea of Poppies’, too much of hype is not a good thing always. In fact it has scared me off too.

  3. the mutt said, on October 6, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Hi dave,
    I’ve heard great reviews (not hyped) about his other book – The Hungry Tide. In fact, The Literary Supplement of The Hindu (Oct 5th) has a front page story on Amitav Ghosh – and they have some very good things to say about him. Now if I can get past the mind block, I might actually pick up one of his books – and read – and finish it!


Leave a Reply

