the mutt

Facta non verba

Posted in General, Writing by grx20 on January 9, 2009

Deeds not words.

That’s my resolution for the year.

Nothing very new, fancy or very different. In fact, one doesn’t need a new year to do this. Yet, there’s something about the turn of December into January that ushers hope and new conviction.

The aim is to get the first draft done by the first half of the year. And yes, I do have an idea that I am very excited about. And that helps a lot. I referred to this in passing in my earlier post. I am also quite excited about the structure of the story and it weaves concepts and themes that have fascinated me for many years now – memories, choices not made, forgiveness, hope, innocence and love.

There are four characters, as of now, and I don’t know yet who will be the key around whom the story revolves. I don’t know who will tell the story.

I have been brooding over parts of the story. Some of the incidents, dialogues, events … these are beginning to take shape in my mind and the process is scaring the s*** out of me. I’m assembling pieces, thinking I’m going to get a certain picture, but I don’t know if the picture will indeed turn out that way. It’s scary to hold these pieces in my mind, weighed down as they are by their fragility, because they are not yet connected and have nothing to sustain them.

It feels good to just let them be in my mind. But this is the year of deeds not words.

Well words, as long as they are being written. Every day.

This process of composting, letting the fragments swim around in their own confusion and nebulosity is simply brilliant.

First draft by the first half of the year. But I’ll be honest – I am being too generous. I should actually nail it in three months. Otherwise, and it’s happened before to me, the characters start becoming boring, I start doubting the plot and idea, and worse, second guess.

Here’s to facta, non verba.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fritzenburger said, on January 9, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Good luck with your resolution. I am looking forward to your finished project. However, I was confused when you stated “deeds, not words” because aren’t more words really the deeds that need to be ‘deeded’ to achieve deeds, not words?

    I am just trying to be funny… Good luck with the 3 month resolution and I am sure you will come out with flying colors.. flying words, at the very least!

    • the mutt said, on January 15, 2009 at 2:27 am

      Thanks Fritzenburger,
      I can see you have a penchant for a good pun. Nice! Yes, you are right. More words are the deeds!

  2. Mads said, on January 9, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Visited your blog for the first time today. Pretty neat work there 😀
    Good luck with your New Year resolution. Must be scary, confusing and you might want to throw it away all of a sudden but just don’t give up 🙂
    Blogrolling you 😀

    • the mutt said, on January 15, 2009 at 2:29 am

      Hi Mads,
      Welcome to The Mutt! Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. D Ram said, on January 10, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Nice writeup and good luck with your resolution

  4. Zapato said, on January 10, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Cool blog man …

  5. DogLover said, on January 10, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Hey man .. I thought this was a site about dogs and loving dogs and stuff like that being the Mutt … sorry… cool site though

    • the mutt said, on January 15, 2009 at 2:46 am

      Oops! Sorry … like I said, that Groucho Marx quote is the closest I’ll get to dogs.
      Not that I don’t like dogs. In fact, I really do and I’d love to have one, some day.
      Thanks for stopping by thought.


Leave a Reply

