the mutt

Another one that got away

Posted in General, Oddities, Writing by grx20 on July 29, 2009

I’d posted earlier about stories and ideas that somehow get away. I read somewhere ‘the faintest ink is better than the strongest memory.’ So I started keeping a note of thoughts and ideas. Sometimes, I’d even have an entire paragraph all worked out, as in the following case.

And sometimes, they get away.

I can’t remember how the rest of this story goes. Or even what it is about. Don’t mean to sound pompous, but damn, I’ve forgotten at a real cliffhanger point. What was the ‘condition?’ What was the only symptom?

There’s probably a name for the condition – some psychologist’s name followed by the word ‘complex’. As if I am a sprawling housing society, the foundations laid in a series of deep-rooted mindf-s.
But since I never asked anyone, I never found out if it had a name. It manifested itself in one telling way. In fact, that is the only symptom of the condition.

Tagged with: , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chit Ap said, on July 31, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Damn, that is one fine gripper of a hook for the start of any novel / short story / novella whatever. I’ve read that sentence 3 times now and I like it more each time. If you can pull out 10 paragraphs like that and work it into a story / novel whatever, any publisher would be an idiot to let it go. Seriously though the piece of writing, it has to create coherent, clear and concrete crystallization of that ‘complex.’

    • the mutt said, on August 3, 2009 at 4:19 am

      Thanks! That’s very heartening to read. Maybe now I will try to flesh it out and work something out of it.

  2. Silva G Motovan said, on August 30, 2010 at 11:17 am

    It is called lackofselfconfidence complex. It is a common problem, widely prevalent among those who want to write but do not start the PC. These persons have the basic ingredients needed to churn out written pages, but something stops them from continuing churning until the butter forms.
    Most of your writings display the common symptoms of this affliction and there is a line of fatalistic I-give-up feeling running beneath the sentences like a subterranean leak.
    It is more than a year since you last wrote here. ?

    I do not normally send feedbacks or comment. In this case, I felt like doing so, after coming back here a few times and not finding anything new. I lie to read what you write. Restart.

  3. Silva G Motovan said, on August 30, 2010 at 11:19 am

    The last sentence, please read as, ‘ I like to read what you write. Restart’


Leave a Reply

